New Sermon Series

“Living in Ordinary Time”

In the Christian calendar “ordinary time” marks those periods between the two major emphases of the year, Lent and Advent. So the two “ordinary times” are from Epiphany until the beginning of Lent and from the Monday after Pentecost until the beginning of Advent. They are called “ordinary” only because they are counted with ordinal numbers – first, second, etc.

They are also “ordinary” in another sense. These are the times of year when we can focus on our “ordinary” lives, the things we do on a regular basis that are no less important than the extraordinary things we do from time to time.

Until the beginning of Lent, the period of preparation for Easter, Parkway worship will focus on “Living in Ordinary Time.” We will consider some of the ways we live out our faith on a daily basis.

Here are the sermons in the series:

January 13 “Getting Off to a Good Start”
Acts 8:14-25
Luke 3:15-22

January 20 “Your Personal Gift”
1 Corinthians 12:1-11
John 2:1-11

February 3 “But if We are the Body, Why”?
1 Corinthians 12:12-31
Luke 4:21-30

February 10 “Life after Resurrection”
1 Corinthians 15:1-11
Luke 5:1-11

February 17 “Firmly Planted Faith”
Psalm 1
Luke 6:17-26

February 24 “Living in Patience and Trust”
Psalm 37:1-11
Luke 6:27-38

March 3 “Listening to the Right Voice”
Transfiguration Sunday
Luke 9:28-36
Psalm 99